Archive for May, 2013

Wits Shield results

The Southerns team was victorious on Sunday! Our players showed the opposition just who's boss and posted the following results:

Sedibeng 7 - 1
Easterns 6 - 2
Northerns 6 - 2

SA Grand Masters date change

Please take note, to accommodate players wanting to play in the WORL MASTERS GAMES the dates for the Grand Masters tournament have been changed. The tournament will now run from 22 - 28 September in Orkney.

Wits Shield takes place on Sunday in Alberton

After a request from a few of our players, we have got the Wits Shield up and running again. The Wits Shield is a tournament in which the top senior sides from Southerns, Northerns, Easterns and Sedibeng play against each other. The idea is for our players to get some good games against strong opponents which will help when we play in Melvill later this year.

The first matches will take place at Alberton on Sunday from 10:00 so pop in to show your support. The team is:

Glen Brothers (capt)
Bert Bateman Jnr
Wayne Hing
Andile Zuma

Shaneen Bown
Angela Hardy
Gail McLoughlin
Sarah Rice

Good luck to the players!

Woodbo update

SGBA was represented by two teams at the recent Woodbo tournament who did very well in their individual and team capacities. Below are the teams and the achievements of the weekend.

There were 35 doubles entries in total (men & Ladies) for the individuals

Rose and Lyn lost in the quarters to Shaneen and Gerda (who were paired up as Partner required)
Megan and Charlene beat Shaneen and Gerda in the finals with a score of 30-28

Neville and Elric won their final game 30-29 to Michael Davies and Frank (NWCD)

A Team
Wayne Hing
Neville Liebenberg
Eric Louw
Megan Oates
Shaneen Bown
Leigh Brooks

B Team
Raymond Glad
Pierre Martin
Willie Mentz
Charlene Brothers
Rose Liebenberg
Lyn Bown

The A team results
SGBA “A” Beat KZN “A” 7-0
SGBA “A” Beat NCD “A” 5-2
SGBA “A” Lost to EGBA 4-3

The A section results
1st – EGBA
2nd – SGBA “A”
3rd – NCD
4th – KZN

The B Team
SGBA “B” Beat NCD “B” 5-2
SGBA “B” Lost to NWCD “A” 6-1
SGBA “B” Lost to NG 4-3

The B section results
1st – NWCD
2nd – NG
3rd – SGBA
4th – NCD

Graded players
A section – Elric , Megan , Shaneen and Leigh
B Section – Charlene

Bum awards
Lyn Bown got Ms Legs
Charlene got Ms Woodbo

Congratulations to the teams and players on some very strong results!

Good luck to the Woodbo teams

SGBA would like to wish our players all the best at the Woodbo tournament in Harrismith this weekend. I hope you took something warm to wear!

League entries close tomorrow

Don't forget that the league entries have to be sent to the League Secretary, Marloes by tomorrow afternoon. Please remember to register on this website as well. Just go to your profile page to update your details. If you haven't registered before, head here instead.

Masters update

Linda Hampton captained the Masters side that took part in the Nationals last week. Below is her update for us.

Robertson went well-due to a better game average we managed to come 4th out of 6 even though we only won one game. So the A section was won narrowly by Western Province followed by NG, Boland, SGBA, Border and NC/Namibia.

In the individuals, Gail made it to the singles final and Linda and Venessa van der Walt the ladies doubles, with Venessa winning the singles and Venessa and Linda the doubles.

Gail and Linda were graded no.2 and 3 respectively and were chosen for the SA team to play Denmark later this year in Stellenbosch! Harvey will manage the team.

Tired bodies, some injuries the most serious being Bert's sprained ankle, not great accomodation, but otherwise a good week overall!

Congratulations to the team and well done to Gail and Linda for their selection!

Masters team doing well

This just in! Our Masters team beat a combination Northern Cape/Namibia side yesterday 4-3. They're looking for another win today to secure a spot in the A section.

Good luck guys!

Good luck to our Masters

Our Masters team is representing us down in Robertson at the moment. We wish the team all the best. Bring us back a trophy!

Bert Bateman
Harvey Ferreira

Linda Hampton (capt)
Gail McLoughlin
Lyn Bown